Kruger Park Mammals - Elephant Shrews

The Elephant Shrew is a fascinating mammal and is a part of the "Little Five" in the Kruger National Park. There are 3 species of Elephant Shrew that occur in the Kruger. They take their name from their protruding nose which resembles an Elephants trunk.

Elephant Shrew Distribution In The Kruger National Park

The 3 species of Elephant Shrew occur in different areas of the Kruger National Park, they all have fairly localised distributions and occur in small patches:

More Information On Kruger's Elephant Shrews

The 3 species of Elephant Shrews above are all diurnal, mainly active at dawn and occasionally active during the night time periods. Elephant Shrews are vulnerable to predation from all carnivores and predators. They can weigh between 50 and 200 grams and have a life span of 4 years. All 3 species of Kruger's Elephant Shrews are insectivorous and can be told apart simply from where they are distributed or by their hind-feet. They are all between 10 and 20 centimeters long and can be told apart from normal shrews by their elongated snout.

Kruger Park Elephant Shrew Gallery

There are currently no photo's of Kruger's Elephant Shrews.